Stash Dash 2016

This year I jumped on the Stash Dash bandwagon. Stash Dash is a knit-as-much-as-you-possibly-can virtual event that runs every summer, hosted by the Knit Girllls podcast. The goal is to knit/crochet/weave/spin enough meters for a ‘distance’ goal. Stash Dash just completed its 5th year.

Although some participants pick a goal – 3k, 5k, 7k, 10k and 15k – I opted to knit as much as I could to see what I could do. I ended up exceeding my expectations, hitting 9,326.6 meters. I basically knit 5.8 miles worth of yarn (although, to be fair, WIPs counted).

So what did I end up knitting?

Three Musketeers Cowl
Chevron Trilogy cowl by Starla Knits

Three Musketeers Cowl, knit using Madelinetosh Unicorn Tails. I purchased this kit at Stitches South, and highly, highly recommend the pattern. This was such a fun knit!

Stripy Coco Mariniere
Stripy Coco Mariniere by Wool and the Gang

Stripy Coco Marinere Sweater, knit using Wool and the Gang Shiny Happy Cotton. I hadn’t met a cotton yarn that I liked, until this one. This is the best cotton yarn I’ve ever used.

Semillina
Semilla by Ela Torrente

Semilla, using Malabrigo Rios. This is my first, but certainly not last, sweater knit using Malabrigo. Such a great pattern, although I will say that the broken seed stitch was a bit monotonous. This pattern is the first sweater box by Yarnbox. My bank account is not going to like when sweater boxes become a regular option!

IMG_3568
Torquata by Ambah O’Brien

The lovely Fleur de Sel in a Grand Bazaar wrap. Check out my post about how much I love this yarn here.

Handspun

I was actually able to spin, ply and block a handspun in a short period of time (I usually have a braid of fiber on my wheel for several months, working slowly on it). This is 154 yards of Happy Fuzzy Yarn in Siddhartha. I think it looks like a garden.

IMG_3669
B to the Three by Meaghan Schmaltz

Primrose B to the Three, knit in beautiful Primrose Yarn that I picked up at Stitches South. This was my first time adventuring into the brioche world that Stephen West loves so much. I’ll be posting soon about it!

Jujika
Jujika by Olga Buraya-Kefelian

Jujika, using the absolutely gorgeous Crave Yarn One. This was a long knit – I forgot how long color work takes. However, I love the result. I’ll be posting about this and Crave Yarn soon!

Giant Cabled Blanket
Throw Blanket/Rug Super Chunky Double Cable blanket by Erin Black

Last, but not least, my Big, Squishy Cabled Blanket, knit using SIX strands of Knitpicks Shine Worsted. My cables got messed up, I had to figure out how to corral six balls of yarn, and the best way to hold size 35 needles. It was an adventure, but I’ve been sleeping with this blanket on my bed every night since I finished it!

Stash Dash was so much fun to join. It was awesome to see what people were making, and to see how many people were able to finish old WIPs! I definitely plan on joining next year.

Have you done Stash Dash? What distance did you reach?

Leave a comment